by Lesa Berryhill

       After a week of fabric dilemmas, client consultations, and lots of decisions made on behalf of others, I am taking today for myself.  An indulgence I encourage for everyone! No matter how you honor yourself, taking the time to do so renews your spirit, mind, and body.

       I want to share the spoils of my semi annual pilgrimage to Round Top Antique Fair . I made the trip without my dear Sister Friend , European historian, and fellow designer Marta Inanchy, but made the most of  my adventure knowing that she was there with me in spirit! As I mentioned in an earlier post, I was searching for the perfect little chair to recover. Much to my disappointment I left without the chair but did find many other treasures that made the trip a huge success.

       While exploring the acres and acres of opportunities over the past few years I have found a few special friends that I always make time for. One of those friends is Margaret Meier, owner of Vintage Fabrics & Etc. in Oakland Park Fl.  She travels to Europe to shop the flea markets and estate sales for incredible quality vintage textiles, she also has “pickers” that are always on the hunt for treasures on her behalf. She has written a book, Vintage Textured Barkcloth, in which she gives the rich history of Barkcloth. She always has a wide selection of Barkcloth, French Tickings, Silk Brocades, European Bed Linens, and incredible hand woven French trims. I never leave without a little treasure that someday will find its’ way to a Berryhill Drapery Design creation!

     Today provided me the opportunity to enjoy the incredible quality and history of these European gems, imagine what these special treasures will someday become, and share their beauty with my friends. These are few of my favorites, a pink French Silk Brocade with a hint of gold, a beautiful rich brown Cotton Velvet with an intricate embroidered pattern in gold metallics from Belgium and a beautiful blue Eastern European Brocade circa 1940s’. The rich colors and  lush textures are artisan qualities that make these textiles both a visual and tactile feast for the textile obsessed! ME!!

 
Thanks for stopping by, and as always, your questions and comments are welcomed!

