Custom Drapery Design Elements

by Lesa Berryhill

As we all know in the custom drapery trade most projects are first time creations and problem solving is a way of life. A recent project posed several challenges and I thought that I would share some of the lessons that I learned along the way!

The photos will take you through the process and outline the steps to achieve a 3 WOM color blocked panel with double flat welt banding.

Image

I used the iPad app “Photo Measures” to record all measurements on a photo of the window. This gives a great visual reference that I used throughout the design process.

The first challenge was to create double biased flat welt banding that would drape smoothly with the folds of the pleats. The biased cut was the key, as a straight grain cut would tend to buckle along the pleat folds.

Image

Image

Creating a stitch path on the banding allows you the keep the welt width consistent along the 3 widths of fabric.

Image

The real challenge was attaching the top of the panel with the welt to the lower hemmed section of the panel. Again the stitch path helped to keep the panel square.

Image

Image

Image

Image

I have to admit that this design element on a 3 WOM panel was a crazy undertaking but it was my idea! I have no one to blame but myself!! The results were SO worth the headaches

Image

I used a low bulk heading method and as usual with Jennifer of Refined Interiors we opted for no buckram.

Image

The low bulk heading provides a very refined Euro pleat.

Image

Wow, this room in Austin on the lake sure makes my work look better! Love, love, love the lighting.

Image

Image

A final tip … always consider perspective when color blocking panels, live and learn.

Off Topic… I’m So glad to be back home in DFW!

